top of page

IGNITE 2022


Depending on how talkative your teenager is you may have received an in depth review of our 2022 Fall Retreat, or you might have been lucky to get a simple "it was good" or grunt of acknowledgement! Regardless, I wanted to share my thoughts on our weekend together and include some of the things our students and leaders took from IGNITE this year.


Let's go back to early August for a moment. I had finally made a full recovery from Camp H2O and was reflecting on some of the feedback from my team. Tyler Hanke had just challenged us to expand our vision for how God wants to work in our lives, but we kept hearing questions and frustrations around the questions "how do I hear from God?", "how do I actually pray?", "how do I know if the Holy Spirit is working in my life?". I knew at that point I wanted our Fall Retreat to address those themes.



Shortly after that I was grabbing lunch with Gabe Grossman whose son is in THRIVE. At first I thought it was simply a great opportunity to get to know a dad connected to our ministry. Now I know it was the Spirit guiding us together. Over lunch Gabe shared his story with me. From living out radical faith as a teenager that saw an amazing movement of God in his high school, to the seasons of running from God and being reluctant to answer His call, to once again submitting and taking steps of faithful obedience as he leads his family. It was just the story and model I think our students needed to hear!


Fast forward to October as we arrived at Canyonview for the first time. Alongside the excitement of airsoft, exploring a new camp, camp fires, capture the flag, and great food, students passionately engaged in worship and dialed in to what Gabe had to share. A major theme that came out from our sessions together was the line "close the gap". Gabe reminded us of the simple truth that so often gets drowned out in our daily routines. God is always there, He is speaking, He is engaged, we just need to close the gap by posturing our hearts and lives to him!


Here are some of the takeaways from our students and youth leaders:

"I was challenged to no get weary, and to not hesitate in doing good."
"I realized that I need to be more honest with others and myself. I have friends that I go way back with but I haven't let them in to certain areas of my life."
"I wasn't sure I wanted to come but now I just want to be close to God again!"
"I realized I don't have to wait to be perfect in order to do good and serve God!"
"I am going to ask God what I can do for Him instead of always thinking about myself."
"Remember to be still and listen to God speaking to me. Also, you don’t have to hear God to do what is right. And also, God speaking to you will align with the scriptures."
"My favorite moment was when students told Gabe they like having their phones taken away. Our students like to have the distractions removed. My biggest takeaway was how hungry our students are.

I really appreciated Gabe's heart for our students. His passion for them to take steps now to develop authentic faith and relationship as high schoolers was evident. Hearing from someone who is not in full time ministry was great for our students. Often it can be easy for teenagers to look at pastors or those that are in ministry and think that we hear from God because of our position. God wants to work in and through all of us!


Retreats are such a valuable time to slow down and be reminded that God is very real, very present, and He desires intimate relationship with each of us! Relationship that is not dependant on us earning it or having it all together. In the times we feel furthest from God he is waiting for us to have that moment of recognition that He is as close as He has ever been, He is there with open arms!


Thank you for trusting us with your student for the weekend! We have an incredible group of young men and woman that I feel incredibly humbled and honored to serve. If you have a chance thank your child's leader!


If you want some good conversation starters to follow up with your child's time at camp these might help!

"How have you been closing the gap since retreat?" If you want to be real vulnerably maybe even ask them "how do you see my/our relationship with God?"
"Have you asked God what you can do for Him lately? Have you followed through with that?"
"What do you need the Holy Spirit's help with?"
54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bingo Night Raises Over $3,000!

Thank you to everyone who attended our Dominican Republic Bingo Night Fundraiser! The gym was a packed, the prize tables were overflowing, and there was food a plenty for over 250 of you that came to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page